SEO Header Title

labknight2.jpg

Retired Dogs

Just Kickin' Back!

In Memoriam

Never Forgotten

Polls

My Favorite Color In Labradors is...
 

Admin Login

Administrator
Theft of Intellectual Property!
Tuesday, 10 August 2010

 From time-to-time I am alerted by folks who see that somebody with no talent to create their own site, steal the images made by us for our site.  It infuriates us when someone with no talent for creating their own website slaps something together, then uses the words and images of others to make themselves feel important.  If one will take the hard work of others to build a page, one can only imagine how bad the information (misinformation) they've gathered is.  I would never purchase a puppy from someone who would steal from another person.  

 

 Take a look at the "email us" graphic on http://www.labinthesack.com/

That email graphic is ours! This is the original graphic uploaded to our server on 4-19-2002:

 

The puppy in the graphic was bred by us in 1998 and this is the image of her that the graphic was made from:

 

I sent them the following email:

===========

 Date: Thu, 22 Jul 2010 12:44:51 -0700
To: This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
From: Dian Welle < This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it >
Subject: "email us" graphic

Hello,

I often allow people to use my graphics if they first ask permission and second give me credit for the work that went into making it.  I notice you have one of my graphics on your page:
http://www.labinthesack.com/Assets/emailus.gif

Please provide credit to me for using it.

Thank you,
Dian Welle
Blue Knight Labradors
www.blueknightlabs.com

==========

 

No response, no compliance with our request.  

So, you'll have to decide if these folks are as honest in dogs as they are in other areas.  I know what I think! 

Purchase puppies only from reputable/honest breeders ! 

 

And of course there is the constant, non-ending use of our graphic at:

The Labrador Breeders Blog

 

Right now, that page is not available.  It is set to expire, so it is possible the owner will not renew.  However, we will not take the notice off this article until the domain has expired completely.

   Domain Name: LABRADORBREEDERSBLOG.COM
Registrar: GODADDY.COM, INC.
Updated Date: 31-jul-2010
Creation Date: 25-aug-2008
Expiration Date: 25-aug-2010

<<

NOTICE: The expiration date displayed in this record is the date the
registrar's sponsorship of the domain name registration in the registry is
currently set to expire. This date does not necessarily reflect the expiration
date of the domain name registrant's agreement with the sponsoring
registrar.

 

 

The graphic in question is this:

 

There is no reason for me to go legal on people. I just point to their ethical practices (or lack thereof), and let it go.  

 

Registrant:

   Bob Jordan
   P.O. Box 472802
   Garland, Texas 75047
   United States

  The page my copyrighted images are on without permission is registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com)
   Domain Name: LABRADORBREEDERSBLOG.COM
      Created on: 25-Aug-08
      Expires on: 25-Aug-10
      Last Updated on: 07-Sep-08

Labradorbreedersblog.com - Labradorbreedersblog site info
labradorbreedersblog.com IP:74.53.164.178
labradorbreedersblog.com server location:  Houston in United States
labradorbreedersblog.com ISP:  THEPLANET.COM INTERNET SERVICES

Another whois search shows the host as being HostGator.com

     9-06-09 Contacted hostgator.com  they wish me to FAX a letter to them regarding this issue.  I will do so by the end of today.

        I will update this page as to the resutls (or lack of resuts) related to my complaint.


The image in question is this:

 

The original artwork can be seen by CLICKING HERE and following the different coat color links . 

We work hard on our articles and our associated graphics.  As you can see, that particular image was added to my website in 1998.   The site owner thought that just giving us a link on his website (which touts breeding practices I would *NEVER* agree to), would be sufficient.   It is not!   I have given people permission to link to that site, but never to steal my images.

12 hours ago I sent the site owner a note asking them to remove the image.  They have not done so.  I gave them 24 hours to do so before I took action, but have decided to add this to my website now, so they could have a taste of what results from stealing the work of others.

 

I find it most interesting that he uses copyrighted images without permission, then puts a comment about fair use laws on his page.  He should have sought the advice of an Internet attorney before he tried to intrepret "fair use":

http://www.utsystem.edu/OGC/IntellectualProperty/copypol2.htm

 

This at least provides the Labrador world with the knowledge of the disreputable practices of Mr. Jordan and his blog.

Feel free to comment on your thoughts of these practices.  I would be happy to post them on my site, or you can send him a little note through his "contact us" link.  Of course he has no comments shown, as he doesn't want people to see what others are saying about him.   

 

Dian

 
< Prev   Next >
image17.jpg
This is for a very few special password protected areas within this site. If you are getting a new dog, have used one of our stud dogs, or have been sent a username and password for any special reason, you'll need to sign in.





Lost Password?
Click for Priest River, Idaho Forecast
Click for Acton, California Forecast

Private Documents

Home Instructions
Bitch Owners

FACEBOOK

Blue Knight is now on Facebook Click here and click "Like" the page to follow us

SYNDICATE (RSS)

Click to subscribe

Daily Tweets

 This is a link to our twitter updates . They're of no particular interest to anyone, but hey, tweeting is fun!!

Pawsitive Quotes

It's not the size of the dog in the fight, it's the size of the fight in the dog.

Dwight D. Eisenhower


Shhh... don't tell your boss.  Grab a virtual pencil and have some fun with Sudoku .