From time-to-time I am alerted by folks who see that somebody with no talent to create their own site, steal the images made by us for our site. It infuriates us when someone with no talent for creating their own website slaps something together, then uses the words and images of others to make themselves feel important. If one will take the hard work of others to build a page, one can only imagine how bad the information (misinformation) they've gathered is. I would never purchase a puppy from someone who would steal from another person, and I would never use a domain registrant, social network, or website of someone who would permit another to do so. |
I have sent a report of image theft and email to:Jonah Peretti 167 Canal Street Suite 300 New York, New York 10013 United States Jonah
This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
http://www.buzzfeed.com/ This is the email sent: Subject: Stolen image Date: Mon, 26 Mar 2012 13:17:16 -0700 To: Jonah
This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
This photo (http://s3-ec.buzzfed.com/static/enhanced/web05/2012/3/22/17/enhanced-buzz-10764-1332450083-22.jpg ) is of my grandson, and one of my puppies. It was taken from my website, which is very clear as to my intellectual property rights: http://www.blueknightlabs.com/ This is a link to the jpg only, which was uploaded to the directory on 2/26/2004: http://www.blueknightlabs.com/lab_fun/pupkiss.jpg This is the web page it is from: http://www.blueknightlabs.com/content/view/93/116/ Please note several copyright notices on the page. Please remove the image from your server. I have added a link to your site from our "stolen images" page until it is removed. http://www.blueknightlabs.com/content/view/209/1 Thank you for your assistance in this matter, Dian Welle WP-ORG ------- They did not respond to my email, but did respond to one from my daughter. Interestingly, they removed the one from Pintrest, but not from their buzzfeed site: Date: Mon, Mar 26, 2012 at 6:14 PM Subject: my nephew To:
This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
Mr. Peretti: Please be kind enough to remove the photo listed at http://s3-ec.buzzfed.com/static/enhanced/web05/2012/3/22/17/enhanced-buzz-10 764-1332450083-22.jpg, as your posting this picture is clear theft of intellectual property belonging to my mother and violates the personal safety of my young nephew. Respectfully, Deborah O_____
From: Peggy Wang [mailto:
This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
] Sent: Monday, March 26, 2012 6:07 PM To: Deb O_____ Subject: Re: my nephew Hi Deb, We've duly removed the photo from the posting. Sorry about that!! --Peggy ------ From: Peggy Wang [mailto:
This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
] Sent: Monday, March 26, 2012 7:11 PM To: Deb Oldfield Subject: Re: my nephew I removed the image from the post. The dev team is working on removing the actual photo from the server. Thanks for your patience!
Take a look at the "email us" graphic on www.labinthesack.com This is a website belonging to: Registrant: Sherry Sack 1405 School Lane Bensalem, Pennsylvania 19020 That email graphic is ours! This is the original graphic uploaded to our server on 4-19-2002:  The puppy in the graphic was bred by us in 1998 and this is the image of her that the graphic was made from: 
I sent them the following email: =========== Date: Thu, 22 Jul 2010 12:44:51 -0700 To:
This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
From: Dian Welle <
This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
> Subject: "email us" graphic Hello, I often allow people to use my graphics if they first ask permission and second give me credit for the work that went into making it. I notice you have one of my graphics on your page: http://www.labinthesack.com/Assets/emailus.gif Please provide credit to me for using it. Thank you, Dian Welle Blue Knight Labradors www.blueknightlabs.com ========== No response, no compliance with our request. So, you'll have to decide if these folks are as honest in dogs as they are in other areas. I know what I think! Purchase puppies only from reputable/honest breeders ! Other breeders may wish to check this page to see if any of the images of their own puppies have been "borrowed" without consent: http://picasaweb.google.com/sherrysack https://www.facebook.com/labinthesack
Feel free to comment on your thoughts of these practices. You can send them a little note through their email addresses I have provided, above. Dian |